Spain will open its borders to non-Schengen travel on June 30th

People from outside of the EU and the Schengen zone will have the possibility to visit Spain for non-essential travel from June 30th – thelocal informs.

The Spanish government has given its “yes” to travels to Spain from outside of the Schengen zone, following the EU’s recommendation for its member states regarding gradual reopening of their borders.

Therefore tourists from the USA and Canada, Latin America, Africa, Oceania and Asia may spend their holidays in Spain from the specified date.

The news comes two days after Spain opened its borders to tourists from all other Schengen and EU countries as well as the UK.

Portugal is an exception to the specified rules, as this country the land border will be closed until July 1st.

Spanish Interior and Foreign ministries sources told El País that the government had not yet made a distinction between all non-Schengen countries but that regular routes would be re-established with countries that have new Covid-19 infections under control.

Spain has previously changed its mind on its post-lockdown travel restrictions, initially setting July 1st as the date for EU tourism to begin and then bringing it forward to June 21st following pressure from Brussels.

The question of travel between Spain and the American continent is perhaps the most complicated.

The US has had more than 2.2 million Covid cases and 120,000 deaths; but in 2019 some 3 million US tourists visited Spain and the country is one of the biggest foreign investors in the Spanish economy.

Then there’s Latin America, considered the new epicentre of the pandemic, but one with strong cultural and historical links to Spain.

Two of the most recent outbreaks in Spain have stemmed from the arrival of returning residents who had spent time in Brazil and Bolivia.

Tourists from some of the worst-hit countries in Latin America are likely to be among the last to be granted travel access by the EU.

The only third-country nationals of the European Union who can travel to Spain before June 30th are legal residents who are going to their place of residence in Spain, long-term Spanish visa holders and cross-border workers, health or care home workers returning to work, logistical workers, military personnel, diplomats and consular personnel, NGO workers, and those who have to travel for imperative reasons. 

Leave a Reply